Traffic violations must have taken place within the
geographic jurisdiction of this court. The geographic
jurisdiction of the Perrysburg Municipal Court covers
the cities of Perrysburg, Rossford, and Northwood; the
townships of Perrysburg, Lake, and Troy; and the villages
of Luckey, Millbury, and Walbridge.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How much is my citation?
- See the pay-out schedule. If you still have questions,
call the Traffic Division at 419.872.7909.
- Do I have to appear in court?
- If the court appearance box is checked on your ticket
indicating a non-waiverable offense or if this is your
third moving violation in the past twelve (12) months,
then you must appear in court. If you have a
waiverable offense, you can admit guilt and pay fines
and court costs by mail or in person without having to
appear before the judge.
- Do I need an attorney?
- If jail is a possible sentence, you should probably
have an attorney, but you are not required to have
attorney representation. If you are unable to afford
an attorney, one may be appointed for you.
- What if I need a different court date?
- The Traffic Division can grant one extension of your
original arraignment date for up to seven days
(unless you have been charged with a non-waiverable
offense). Call 419.872.7909 prior to the appearance
date on your ticket to request a continuance.
A second continuance of your court appearance must
be granted by the judge. You must request this
continuance in writing explaining the reason for the
request. The court will notify you of its decision.
- Can I call to request more time to pay my fine?
- Yes, the Traffic Division Clerk may grant you a one
week extension. If you need more time, then you must
appear at court to request additional time to pay.
If your fines and costs exceed $100.00, the court will
sometimes allow you additional time to pay your
- I forgot to pay my ticket on time. Can I mail it on
the court date?
- The court must receive full payment within 30 days
of your court date or further legal action will be
taken against you.
- I did not show my insurance card to the officer.
If I bring it in now, can I just pay my fine?
- Yes, if you have a waiverable citation, you can mail
or bring in a copy of your insurance card or policy
showing coverage for the date of your violation.
- I did not have insurance on the day I received my
citation. Will my license be suspended? For how
- Yes, your license will be suspended for 90 days by
the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles on a first
- Can I get driving privileges while my license is
- Contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- Will my fine be different if I appear in court? How
do I know how much money to bring?
- The judge determines the fine amount in court
depending on the nature of the offense and any
prior record. The judge reviews the records,
listens to your comments, and bases his decision on
all the information given.
If you do not have money on the day of your
appearance and your fines and costs exceed $100.00,
the court will sometimes allow you additional time
to pay your fine. This is referred to as a payment
If you plead not guilty, go to trial, and are found
guilty, there may be additional costs incurred for
subpoenas, witness fees, etc. These fees are in
addition to the minimum $53.00 costs.
- What if I miss my court date?
- Failure to appear in court as required will result
in the following actions:
- A warrant for your arrest for failure to
appear may be issued. You will be required
to post a bond, if you are subsequently
- The court will notify the Ohio Bureau of
Motor Vehicles of your failure to appear.
The BMV will withhold the issuance or renewal
of your driver's license and registration,
and suspend your driving privileges.
- What should I bring with me to Court?
- Proof of insurance for the vehicle and driver
for the date shown on the ticket
- Valid driver's license or a valid renewed
- Proof of vehicle ownership if car was
- Adequate funds to pay for possible fines and
- What should I expect in Court?
- A trial is a proceeding in which the Prosecutor
and/or the State of Ohio will try to convince the
court that you have committed the traffic violation
with which you have been charged. The prosecutor is
required to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
You should arrive at court several minutes prior to
your scheduled appearance time. Sign-in as soon as
you exit the elevator, then wait until your case is
Please be prepared to spend several hours at court
on the day that you appear. While the court makes
every effort to move its docket swiftly, cases are
scheduled closely together and there are often
Payment of Traffic Ticket
If you do not wish to appear in court, payment of the fine
and court costs listed for your
offense must be received by the court
before your court date which is listed on
the bottom of your ticket. Payment can be made in person
at the Perrysburg Municipal Court during regular business
hours, by mail, or online.
Credit card payment (Visa or MasterCard) is acceptable when
paid in person or online.
You must have exact change if paying by cash. Personal
checks, money orders, and certified checks should be
made payable to Perrysburg Municipal Court. Checks
must have your current address and phone number listed.
Please write your ticket number on the memo line for
If you mail your payment, sign the waiver of court
appearance that appears on your citation, then send
the signed citation along with your payment to the
Traffic Violations Bureau at 300 Walnut Street,
Perrysburg, Ohio 43551-1455. Include a self-addressed,
stamped envelope if you want to be sent a receipt.
If you did not show the officer proof of insurance when
you received the ticket (look on the front of the ticket
to see which box was checked), then you must show the
court that insurance was in effect at the time of the
citation. Acceptable forms of proof of insurance
include: a copy of your insurance card or insurance
policy showing effective dates and the car insured.
Failure to provide proof of insurance will result in
a suspension of your license by the Ohio Bureau of
Non-Waiverable Traffic and Criminal Offenses
Certain traffic violations and criminal offenses can be
waived; that is you can admit guilt and pay your fines
and court costs by mail or in person without having to
appear before the judge. Other violations
require a court appearance under the law.
Below you will find a list of the offenses which require
The date on the ticket is the last day you will have to
plead not guilty, waiver the charge, or appear in court.
If you plead not guilty, a future court date will be
The following offenses require a court
appearance, they are non-waiverable offenses:
- A third moving traffic offense or more within a
twelve (12) month period;
- A felony or indictable offense;
- Operation or physical control of a motor vehicle
while under the influence of alcohol or drugs of abuse;
- Wrongful entrustment;
- Leaving the scene of an accident;
- Driving while under suspension or revocation of
- Driving without being licensed to drive;
- Any speed in excess of 35 MPH over limit;
- Failure to stop and remain stopped or overtaking a
school bus stopped on the highway for the purpose of
receiving or discharging a school child;
- Willfully eluding or fleeing a police officer;
- Drag racing;
- When damage is inflicted upon a victim and
restitution is required;
- Misrepresentation of gross vehicle weight R.C.
- All other offenses not disposable under the
Reinstatement Fee Payment Plan for Driving Privileges
If you are under a license suspension for non-payment of
reinstatement fees owed to the Ohio Bureau of Motor
Vehicles (BMV), you may petition the court to approve a
plan for payment of fees, so you may drive. Payment
plans will likely be approved if the plan provides for
payment of at least $50.00 per month to the BMV with
payment of all fees within 180 days.
Every Tuesday at 3:30 p.m. drivers who wish to petition
for a payment plan and driving privileges should report
to the Traffic Division of the Clerk's Office. Proof
of insurance must be shown if driving privileges are
requested. The driver must otherwise be qualified to
operate a motor vehicle to obtain driving privileges
with a payment plan.
If the reinstatement fees are associated with a case in
another court, the court will charge a $85 filing fee.
Enforcement of warrants for arrest is solely the
responsibility of law enforcement agencies.
Individuals with information regarding the current
whereabouts or address of an individual who is the
subject of a warrant are asked to contact the
- the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over
the original case
- the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over
where the individual is currently residing/staying,
- the agency responsible for prosecuting the case
These agencies will investigate the matter to determine
if there is a valid warrant for the individual concerned
and whether this is the individual named in the warrant.
Other factors involved include jurisdiction, distance,
and age of the offense/warrant. Individuals should
never attempt to enforce a warrant themselves.
If you learn that you have a warrant for your arrest
issued by this court, contact the court immediately at
419.872.7925. Many times the warrant can be withdrawn
when you schedule a date to appear before the judge.
The pay-out schedule does not apply when you appear in
Court appearance is mandatory for:
- cases where restitution is required (when damage is
inflicted upon a victim);
- a third moving violation within a twelve month
- a non-waiverable offense
Each pay-out is a total figure which includes the fine,
plus $78.00 court costs ($39.00 local and $39.00 state
charges) except as otherwise noted.
If the violator wishes to dispose of a case through the
traffic violations bureau with an outstanding and
computerized bench or state warrant, an additional
$25.00 court cost shall be added to the pay-out. If
this is the second moving violation within a 12 month
period, an additional $30.00 fine shall be added to
Revised Effective 03/01/2013
||Failure to make annual registration of or pay
tax on motor vehicle. ($45 fine + $78 costs)
Driver must show proof of current registration
and payment of tax at time of pay-out.
||If no proof is shown
||Failure to display proper license plates /
validation sticker ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Expired Operator's License, first offense
(minor misdemeanor) ($30 fine + $78 costs)
||Willful & Wanton Disregard for Safety
||No accident ($65 fine + $78 costs)
||Accident with proof of insurance ($80 fine +
Driver must show proof of insurance coverage
for the date of the accident. Mandatory
court appearance if there is no proof of
||Driving while texting ($150 fine + $78 costs)
New law effective 3/1/2013
(If charged with another violation, court
costs shall be $53)
||Speeding (except for
||Speed - Assured Clear Distance ($55 fine +
||Approaching a stationary public safety or road
service vehicle that is displaying emergency
flashing light ($90 fine + $78 costs)
||Slow Speed - under speed limit which impedes
normal movement of traffic ($45 fine +
||One-Way Streets ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Improper Passing/Passing on Right ($45 fine +
||Driving Left of Center ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Improper Lane Use/Marked Lanes ($45 fine +
||Space Between Moving Vehicles ($45 fine +
||Improper Turn - No Accident ($45 fine +
||Turn Signals - No Accident ($45 fine +
||Red Light/Stop Sign ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Jaywalking ($38 fine + $3 costs)
Pay-out does not include court costs or state
charges, except a $3 legal research fee, said
costs and charges being suspended.
||Hitchhiking ($35 fine + $53 costs)
No state costs assessed.
||Bicycle Operation & Equipment ($38 fine + $3
Pay-out does not include court costs or
state charges, except a $3 legal research
fee, said costs and charges being
||No Helmet or Protective Eye Device ($45 fine +
||Bicycle Signal & Lighting Device ($45 fine +
||Parking ($15 fine + $53 costs)
No state costs assessed.
||Parking Prohibition - by a Fire Hydrant or in
a Fire Lane ($50 fine + $53 costs)
||Parking in a Handicap Zone ($250 fine + $53
Fine reduced to $100 if offender shows proof
of a valid handicapped parking permit in
effect on the date of the violation.
||Failure to Provide Child Restraint ($55 fine +
||Unsafe Vehicle ($50 fine + $78 costs)
||Lighted Lights, Headlights & Tail Lights - No
Accident ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Lights, Flags & Emblems - No Accident ($45 fine
+ $78 costs)
||Muffler/Excessive Noise ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Rear Mirror/Obstructing View ($45 fine + $78
||Seat Belt - Driver ($30 fine + $63 costs)
If the driver is also charged with a moving
traffic offense, then the court costs (but
not the fine) on the seat belt charge shall
be waived if the driver pays the fine and
costs on the other moving traffic offense.
||Seat Belt - Passenger Front Seat ($20 fine + $63
||Insecure Load ($55 fine + $78 costs)
||Towing Requirements ($45 fine + $78 costs)
||Abandonment of Junk Car ($55 fine + $78 costs)
+ disposal costs
Fine computed in accord with O.R.C. 5577.99 -
call court for pay-out amount.
||Mud Flaps ($25 fine + $78 costs)
Posting Bail - FAQ
- What is Bail and When is it Posted?
- The purpose of posting bond is to assure the people
charged with offenses appear in court as scheduled.
Although "bond" or "bail" is usually an amount of
money, it can also be the person's guarantee or
recognizance that he/she will appear. Conditions
of bond can be imposed by the judge, restricting
contact with victims or witnesses, electronic
monitoring (house arrest), and various other
conditions by order of the court.
Bond is set one of two ways: 1) a predetermined
amount based upon the court's misdemeanor bond
schedule for the offense charged, or 2) by the
judge if a felony offense is charged. If the
person is charged with a misdemeanor offense, a
predetermined bond amount will be set and you may
post bond at any time after the person has been
booked into jail. In cases involving a felony
offense, the arresting law enforcement agency will
contact the judge to set bond (felony bond is set
within 48 hours of arrest).
- Where is Bail Posted?
- Bail bonds may be posted 24 hours a day. Payment can
be made by cash, certified check (made payable to
Perrysburg Municipal Court), Visa, or MasterCard.
If paying by credit card, the cardholder must be
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. bond may be
posted at the Perrysburg Municipal Court,
Traffic/Criminal Division, at 300 Walnut Street,
Perrysburg, Ohio; 419.872.7909.
If the court is closed, bond may be posted at the
City of Perrysburg Police Division, 330 Walnut Street,
Perrysburg, Ohio; 419.872.8001. Or at the Lake
Township Police Department, 27975 Cummings Road,
Millbury, Ohio; 419.838.6651.
- Recognizance Bond - Sometimes referred to as an
"O R bond", this bond only requires the person who
is charged with the offense to sign bond papers that
are completed by the court. No other collateral is
posted. Failure to appear for all future court dates
under a recognizance bond is punishable by six months
in jail and/or a $1,000 fine, regardless of the
outcome of the original charge.
10% Cash Bond - This type of bond requires only 10%
of the full amount of the bond to be posted. For
example, if a $2,000 appearance bond is set, you
will need to post $200 with the court for release
of the defendant. If the person charged with the
offense attends all court appearances, 90% of the
money posted will be returned. In the above example,
you would receive a refund check for $180. If,
however, the defendant misses a court appearance,
you would be liable for the remainder of the bond
set and the court would render a judgment against
you. In this example, you would owe the court $1,800.
Cash Bond* - You must post the entire amount of the
bond that has been set before the defendant may be
released. If the defendant attends all court
hearings, the court will return all of the money
posted for bail to you. If the defendant fails to
appear, you will lose the money you posted.
Surety Bond* - This bond requires the posting of a
surety power from an insurance company that guarantees
the full amount of the bond will be paid in the event
the defendant does not appear for a scheduled court
hearing. Bonding companies and bailsmen are neither
agents nor employees of the court. Bonding companies
can be found by looking in the yellow pages of the
telephone book under "Bail". The court cannot
recommend a bonding company to you. The fee a
bonding company charges is typically 10% of the bond
that is set.
*Note - The judge sets bond as either cash or surety,
thus giving the option of posting either.
Property Bond - This bond has many requirements
pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 2937.24 and Criminal
Rule 46 (A)(3) & (I):
- The real estate must be titled in the name of
the defendant or the surety (the person
posting the bond) and must be located in Wood
- The defendant or surety must file an affidavit
for a real estate bond which:
- includes a legal description of the real
estate in Wood County;
- has attached a statement of current owners
and lien holders from either a real estate
attorney or a title company showing all
owners of the real estate including the
defendant or the surety;
- has attached a current appraisal from the
county auditor or a licensed real estate
agent, showing the fair market value of
the real estate;
- has attached a statement of equity showing
the difference in the fair market value
of the real estate less the unpaid
balances of each lien, equaling a balance
of at least twice the amount of the
- includes a statement of each spouse of
each owner indicating agreement to post
the property as bond; and,
- is signed by the defendant or surety,
each owner, and each spouse of each
- The judge or clerk of court must approve
these documents and will file the bond in
the Wood County Recorder's Office as a lien
on the real estate. A release of lien shall
be conveyed to the surety for filing after
the bond is released.
Should the defendant fail to appear, the lien on the
real estate can be foreclosed, the real estate sold,
and the proceeds applied to the bail amount. This
means the person posting bond could lose their house
if the defendant fails to appear.
- When Will They Get Out of Jail?
- Once bond is posted, the jail is sent a release form.
The physical release of the prisoner is now the
responsibility of the Wood County Sheriff's
Department. Generally, release can be a lengthy
process. You may call the Wood County Justice
Center at 419.354.7744.
- What Happens Next?
- If the person has been charged with a misdemeanor
case, the case will continue to be heard in this
court and the defendant will receive notice of
his/her next court date.
Felony cases, however, will be scheduled for a
preliminary hearing. At the preliminary hearing
one of two things can happen. Either the case
will be dismissed or it will be bound over to
the Wood County Common Pleas Court. If the case
is bound over, it continues (including bond) and
new hearings will be set in common pleas court.
If the case is dismissed in municipal court,
everything (including bond) is treated accordingly.
However, you should be aware that the grand jury
could indict the defendant on the same charges and
the case would begin anew in common pleas court.
- How Do I Get My Bail Money Back?
- Bond is held until the case has been disposed of or
upon order of the judge. Bond can only be refunded
to the individual who posted it, to the person whose
name appears on the bond receipt. If the bond
receipt is in the defendant's name, the money may
be applied to payment of fines and costs. If the
bond receipt is in another person's name, that
person may authorize the court, in writing, to allow
the bond to be applied to the payment of defendant's
fines and costs. For your convenience, you have
the option of receiving your bond refund either by
mail or in person. To receive a refund in person,
you must present photo identification.